Friends of Arthur Machen
App Store Android App
       Site Map
Advertising Opportunities
Attending Members
Guests of Honour...
How to Join
       The Book Club
       Reading Café
       Gemmell Awards
       Selected Parties & Launches
       "Signing Alley"
       Dealers' Room
       Art Show
Progress Reports
Travelling to Brighton
World Fantasy Awards...
World Fantasy History
World Fantasy 2014
Fantasycon 2012

The presentation of the 2013 DAVID GEMMELL AWARDS FOR FANTASY will herald a weekend of exceptional events at World Fantasy Convention.

Bragelonne The shortlist for the 2013 David Gemmell Awards was announced on August 11:

Legend Award  (Best Novel)
  Joe Abercrombie: The Red Country (Gollancz)
  Jay Kristoff: Stormdancer (Pan Macmillan UK)
  Mark Lawrence: King of Thorns (HarperCollins/Voyager)
  Helen Lowe: The Gathering of the Lost (Orbit)
  Brent Weeks: The Blinding Knife (Orbit)

Morningstar Award  (Best Debut Novel)
  Saladin Ahmed: Throne of the Crescent Moon (Gollancz and DAW Books)
  Miles Cameron: The Red Knight (Gollancz)
  John Gwynne: Malice (Pan Macmillan UK)
  Aidan Harte: Irenicon (Jo Fletcher Books)
  Jay Kristoff: Stormdancer (Pan Macmillan UK)

Ravenheart Award  (Best Cover Art)
  Didier Graffet and Dave Senior, for The Red Country by Joe Abercrombie (Gollancz)
  Dominic Harman, for Legion of Shadow by Michael J. Ward (Gollancz)
  Clint Langley, for Besieged by Rowenna Cory Daniells (Solaris)
  Silas Manhood, for The Blinding Knife by Brent Weeks (Orbit)
  Colin Thomas, for Stormdancer by Jay Kristoff (Pan Macmillan UK)
  Stephen Youll, for The Black Mausoleum by Stephen Deas (Gollancz)

Voting is now open on the shortlist (DGA website), and closes at 23:59 on September 30, 2013.

Designed to raise public awareness of the Fantasy genre, celebrate the history and cultural importance of Fantasy literature, and appreciate and reward excellence in the field, the awards commemorate the legacy of British author David Gemmell and his contribution to the Fantasy genre.

First presented in 2009, each year the Gemmell Awards endow the Legend Award—a majestic 'Snaga' battleaxe—for Best Fantasy Novel; the Morningstar Award for Best Fantasy Debut, and the Ravenheart Award for Best Fantasy Artwork/Bookjacket. Voting is FREE and open to anyone in the world, so go to the DGA website for more information.

Legend Award

Morningstar Award

Ravenheart Award

Previous DGA winners have included Andrzej Sapkowski, Pierre Pevel, Graham McNeill, Darius Hinks, Didier Graffet & Dave Senior, Brandon Sanderson, and Olof Erla Einarsdottir.

For one year only, the glittering Gemmell Awards ceremony and reception will be held on the evening of Thursday, October 31st as a gala curtain-raiser to World Fantasy Convention 2013. Admittance in open to all members of the DGA and WFC 2013.

Photo © 2012 Mandy Slater
Stephen Jones, Amanda Foubister and Stan Nicholls at The David Gemmell Awards 2012
Stephen Jones, Amanda Foubister and Stan Nicholls at The David Gemmell Awards 2012

As the Gemmell Awards will be presented at the end of October, and not in mid-June as usual, the organisers have changed the voting cycle to accommodate this new date. The Longlist nominated by publishers is now available on the DGA website, where voting for the Shortlist will be open until the end of September. The winners will be hailed the new champions of fantasy at a ceremony on the Thursday night at World Fantasy Convention 2013.

The DGA is a not-for-profit organisation, which operates through the goodwill of its volunteers, sponsors and friends.

For more information about The David Gemmell Awards contact:
Stan Nicholls (Chair):
Christine Harrison (Awards Administrator):



Copyright © 2011–2014 Smith & Jones All Rights Reserved Worldwide   •   Maintained by Rodger Turner for Arctera Consulting